On Sunday, July 9, beginning at 2:00 p.m. another outstanding Mosby Heritage Area Association program will explore two unique sites that loom large in the history of the Aldie area.
The tour begins at the “Institute Farm,” 22265 Oatlands Road, Aldie, once home to the Loudoun Agricultural and Chemical Institute. This school was the first of its kind in Virginia and was at the cutting edge of the agricultural revolution of the 19th century. After the closure of the school, the farm became home to the National Beagle Club and remains at the epicenter of American beagling to this day.
The program continues a short distance away at the Furr Farm, along the historic Snickersville Turnpike. Home to one of Mosby’s Rangers, the farm saw extensive action during the Battle of Aldie in June 1863. A monument to the 1st Massachusetts Cavalry stands as a testament to the bloodshed on this ground. Today the farm complex has been lovingly restored to its nineteenth-century appearance.
Historians at each site will cover a variety of topics relating to the Civil War, agricultural history, historic preservation, and more!
Refreshments are included. Tickets are $30 for MHAA members and $40 for non-members.
They may be purchased online at http://mosbyheritagearea.org/event-registrations/an-afternoon-in-aldie or (540) 687-6681.