Five seniors and four juniors were recently elected to the Foxcroft School Chapter of the Cum Laude Society. They join four members of the Senior Class who were named to the national high school scholastic honor society a year ago as juniors.

Seniors Virginia Bonnie (San Francisco, CA), Emma Carmichael (Lovettsville, VA), Erica Johnson (Richmond, VA), Cecelia Mould (Broad Run, VA), and Selina Xu (Beijing, China) were recently elected to the School’s Cum Laude Chapter, which is modeled on the collegiate Phi Beta Kappa. In addition, juniors Molly Catlett (Middleburg, VA), London Hershey (Hagerstown, MD), Lucy Moan (Middleburg, VA), and Helen Ventikos (Purcellville, VA) were given the special distinction of being selected during their junior year.

Inducted last year, current seniors Claire Ai and Catherine Jin (Beijing, China), Caroline McLaughlan (South Riding, VA), and Xinyi Shen (Guangdong, China) will join faculty members of the chapter to officially welcome the new members into the Society at the Cum Laude induction ceremony held during Foxcroft’s annual Awards Assembly in May.

Those current faculty members are Head of School Cathy McGehee, Assistant Head of School Courtney Ulmer, STEM Teacher and Wellness Education Coordinator Dr. Meghen Tuttle (Chapter President), Athletic Director Michelle Woodruff (Chapter Secretary), Director of The Innovation Lab and History Department Chair Alex Northrup, World Language Department Chair Dr. Anne Mueller, and English Teacher and Global Studies Concentration Coordinator Dr. Lindsay O’Connor.

The presence of a Cum Laude chapter at a secondary school indicates a commitment to outstanding scholastic achievement. Students selected for induction must have superior academic records as reflected in their course load, grade point average, and other factors. They must also demonstrate a serious interest in the pursuit of knowledge and academic integrity. National guidelines limit membership to 20 percent of a senior class; up to half of those students are eligible to be elected in their junior year.

The Cum Laude Society was founded in 1906 and has grown to include 382 chapters, the vast majority of which are located at independent schools in the United States. Foxcroft’s chapter was established in 1958.

Previous articleFoxcroft School to Host Screening of “Resilient Hearts” Haitian Earthquake Documentary Public invited to attend Wednesday, March 16, at 7pm
Next articleTen Foxcroft School Students Earn Prestigious Scholastic Art and Writing Awards Four of the 16 honored works earn top regional honors and advance to the national competition.